BRISBANE INTERNATIONAL


1st RND beat Caroline Garcia FRA 6-3 6-0
2nd RND Ashleigh Barty AUS walk-over
QF beat Kaia Kanepi EST 4-6 6-3 6-2
SF lost Serena Williams USA 2-6  6-7

.


Posted on 2 january 2014


Maria ontmoet Williams voor de 17e keer in halve finale Brisbane.

Maria heeft zich ten koste van Kaia Kanepi geplaatst voor de halve finale in Brisbane.
Sharapova die na vier maanden blessureleed haar comeback maakt in Brisbane zal nu de degens moeten kruisen tegen Serena Williams.
Van de voorafgaande 16 ontmoetingen wist Maria maar twee keer te winnen.


Maria wint in 3 sets van Kaia Kanepi.

Posted on 30 december 2013


Maria Makes Triumphant Return.

Maria made a triumphant return to the WTA at the Brisbane International on Monday night, serving up a straight set victory in her first match in over four months.
Having been out of action since August due to a right shoulder injury, not many knew what to expect from Sharapova – but she certainly delivered, never facing a break point in eight service games and breaking four times en route to a 63 60 win over Caroline Garcia. The second set took 25 minutes.
“I think I was just really determined to get back on the court,” Sharapova said. “It’s been a while. I think the whole team was really ready to go out. I knew I was going to play Monday night a little bit ago already. I got goosebumps when I heard because I was looking forward to today even a week ago.
“It’s those days you work for. It was a big step to come and a big step to play out there tonight.” The No.3-seeded Sharapova was given a warm reception as she took center court under the lights. “It’s been three or four years in the making, so when I was walking out on the court I was like, ‘Whew, that took a while.’ Last year I had a few practices but didn’t end up playing. But it’s just as exciting for me as it is for the fans that came to watch me play.


28 december 2013. Maria tijdens de training in Brisbane.

Plaats een reactie